The Prostate Cancer Biorepository Network is governed by a Steering Committee (SC). The membership, comprising of two voting members from each network site, a consumer advocate and an external expert, provides expertise on areas related to the Network's activities.

The functions of the SC include the following:

  • To define policies and criteria for prioritization of, and access to samples
  • To assure that Standard Operating Procedures conform to NCI Best Practices [pdf]
  • To review progress of, and promote sustained growth of the network
  • To resolve conflicts
  • To define policies for collaborations and publications

Members of the Steering Committee include:

  • Bruce J Trock, Ph.D. (Professor of Urology, Epidemiology, Oncology, Environmental Health, JHU)
  • Jonathan Melamed, M.D. (Associate Professor of Pathology, NYU)
  • Peng Lee, M.D., Ph.D. (Associate Professor of Urology, Pathology, NYU)
  • Angelo De Marzo, M.D., Ph.D. (Professor of Pathology, Oncology, Urology, JHU)
  • Karen Sfanos, Ph.D. (Associate Professor of Pathology, JHU)
  • William Grizzle, M.D., Ph.D. (Professor of Pathology, UAB)
  • Ira Smolin (Consumer Advocate)

Expert guidance is provided to the Department of Defense Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs Prostate Cancer Research Program and the United States Army Medical Research Acquisition Activity by an External Advisory Board (EAB) . The EAB is convened by the Department of Defense and comprised of pathologists, urologists, oncologists, basic scientists, and prostate cancer advocates.

Members of the External Advisory Board (EAB) include:

  • Ana Aparicio, M.D. (Professor, Department of Genitourinary Medical Oncology, Division of Cancer Medicine, The University of Texas MD Anderson Center, Houston, TX)
  • Peter Gann, M.D., ScD (Professor, Department of Pathology, University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • John Carpten, Ph.D. (Professor and Chair, Translational Genomics, Director, Institute of Translational Genomics, Keck School of Medicine of University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA)
  • Michael Ittmann, M.D., Ph.D. (Director, Human Tissue Acquisition and Pathology Shared Resource, Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center, Department of Pathology and Immunology, Baylor College of Medicine)
  • Todd Morgan, M.D. (Associate Professor, Department of Urology, University of Michigan Urology Cancer Center, Ann Arbor, MI)
  • Beatrice Knudsen, M.D., Ph.D. (Medical Director, Biorepository and Translational Pathology, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center)
  • M. Scott Lucia, M.D. (Vice Chair of the Department of Pathology; Director of Anatomic Pathology; Director of the Prostate Diagnostic Laboratory, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus)
  • Helen Moore, Ph.D. (Branch Chief, NCI Biorepositories and Biospecimen Research Branch -BBRB)
  • Robert Reiter, M.D. (Professor of Urology and Molecular Biology, Director of the Prostate Cancer Treatment and Research Program, and Director of Urologic Research at the Geffen School of Medicine at University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Steve Rowe, M.D., Ph.D. (Assistant Professor, Radiology and Radiological Science, Johns Hopkins University, School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD)
  • Howard Soule, Ph.D. (Executive Vice President and Chief Science Officer, Prostate Cancer Foundation, Santa Monica, CA)